Protest in Russia
A dekoder-Special

What makes people take to the streets?

Protest is pointless, so many people say, and all the more so in Russia. But there’s a lot happening on Russia’s streets all the same. Quite a variety of experiences can motivate people to protest: outrage, feeling threatened – or just the fun factor, says Jan Matti Dollbaum.

Outrage, Shock and the Fun Factor: What Motivates Protest?

Protests are always against Putin… aren’t they?

No. In fact, protests are often explicitly intended to be apolitical. And they start where people are directly affected: right outside their own front doors. Carine Clément on different kinds of protest.

“Take to the Streets or Keep Quiet”: Protests in Russia Today

How does political protest originate?

Does political protest originate as a grassroots movement? Or are activists deliberately recruited by political actors? Both of these are true – and both are false, says Jan Matti Dollbaum.

“We are the Power”: Protest as Politics

Power and pressure from the streets: How stable is the regime?

The probability that pressure from the streets will trigger a power shift in Russia is low, agree Graeme Robertson and Vladimir Gel’man. The two political scientists differ in their assessment of why that is the case, though.

The Power Question: Can the Street Take Down the Regime?

About the Project

Protest in Russland
Ein dekoder-Special

Protest ist sinnlos, heißt es oft, und in Russland sowieso. Auf russischen Straßen und Plätzen ist aber dennoch einiges los. Ganz unterschiedliche Erfahrungen können Menschen zum Protest motivieren: etwa Empörung, Bedrohung – oder einfach Spaß, sagt Jan Matti Dollbaum.

Nein, denn Protest ist oft sogar ausdrücklich nicht politisch gemeint. Und er beginnt da, wo die Menschen unmittelbar betroffen sind: vor ihrer Haustür. Carine Clément über unterschiedliche Arten von Protest.

Entsteht politischer Protest als Graswurzelbewegung? Oder werden Aktivisten von politischen Akteuren gezielt rekrutiert? Beides stimmt – und stimmt auch nicht, sagt Jan Matti Dollbaum.

Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass der Druck der Straße in Russland einen Machtwechsel bewirkt, ist gering, meinen die Politikwissenschaftler Graeme Robertson und Vladimir Gel’man. Die Gründe dafür gewichten beide allerdings unterschiedlich.

Über das Projekt